dscf1777.jpg

If you have some ready-made gnocchi laying around, this is an easy and tasty dinner. If we make it again, I’d leave the gorgonzola out of the mixing and let people add as they’d like. As it was, it was too much cheese for my taste, and not enough for R.’s. This could also be made with chicken, sausage, or even something like tofu. And something tells me that adding some crushed red pepper would be excellent, as well.

This is another adapted recipe, which I actually took from a pretty great vegan cooking blog. I don’t particularly like Portobella mushrooms, so I substituted Quorn tenders (not vegan, surprisingly–there’s egg products in them). I also didn’t have tomatoes, so I substituted red pepper instead, which made for a very different kind of meal. I’d like to try it with tomatoes, but I think I’d make it first with peppers again. Anyway, you can find the original recipe here.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 package prepared gnocchi (1 lb, 1 oz)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/3 package Quorn tenders
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, cut into pinky-finger-length strips 1/4″ wide
  • 2 large leaves purple basil, cut finely with kitchen scissors
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 2 medium zucchini, sliced into cubes.
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Procedure

Boil water in a medium sized pot. Add the gnocchi and cook for 2-3 minutes, until pieces float to the top. As soon as they’re done, strain them immediately and set the pot aside. Leaving them in the water or overcooking them will tend to make them sticky.

Heat the oil in a medium-large skillet, adding the garlic and Quorn tenders. If the tenders are frozen, make sure to add the garlic only after the Quorn is beginning to soften. When the garlic begins to brown a little, add the basil and pepper, stir-frying for 2 minutes or so. Do the same with the zucchini & broth. Finally, combine the vegetables and the gnocchi, adding gorgonzola, salt and pepper to taste.

dscf1775.jpg

