dscf35181

People who know me well know of my restaurant eccentricities.  I really don’t like ordering something that somebody else at the table has already ordered.  So whenever I go out to a Thai restaurant, that essentially means that Pad Thai is right out (since inevitably someone else always orders it).  As a result, I’ve had quite a variety of Thai dishes I probably wouldn’t have tried anyway.  Gaprow is one of my favorites, and I’ve wanted to make it on my own for a while now.  This was a surprisingly easy dish, and came out fabulously.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound tofu (we used extra firm)
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped fine
  • 1 green pepper
  • 2 red chiles, seeded and minced (wear rubber gloves)
  • 1/4 cup chicken/veggie broth
  • 1 tablespoon Asian fish sauce
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups loosely packed fresh basil leaves
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice or to taste

Procedure

We froze and thawed the tofu 3 times to get it to firm up a bit more, but I’m not sure if that is totally necessary.

Cut the tofu into thin, 2 inch long slices.

Mix together fish sauce, broth, soy sauce, sugar, chilies, and black pepper into a sauce.  Set aside.

Heat a wok or heavy skillet over high heat until hot. Add oil and heat until hot but not smoking. Add garlic and green peppers, stir-fry until golden. Add tofu and cook, stirring constantly to prevent sticking, until all tofu takes on a golden hue and firms up a bit.  Depending on how much water it’s packed in this could take a while.  Don’t put the pan on too hot or it’ll all stick to the bottom and ruin Christmas.

Add chilies, broth, fish sauce, sugar, soy sauce, and black pepper and stir-fry until combined. Add basil and stir-fry 30 seconds until basil is wilted but still green. Stir in lime juice.

Serve with rice.

